Balmun Model United Nations

So I know I haven’t been on here for a while (aka three days), but it feels like a lifetime!

But that’s because of the Balmun Model United nations, which took place in the small town of Rostock, Germany! I traded my usual colorful, weird self for my serious, alter ego. “Super businessy politician who wears A line skirts and suit jackets.” Yep, I’m definitely going to work on the catchiness of that.

Image

Image

It’s so pretty, with picturesque little cottages mixed in with Gucci perfumes and extremely fashionable clothes.

Image

Image

Everything is so much cheaper here than in Berlin. You can actually get a really decent meal for under 10 Euros!

So what exactly is Model United Nations?

It’s a stimulated, well, United Nations. All participants are either press or delegate. I was the delegate of Guatemala cuz’ I thought it was going to be easy representing a relatively small country which no one really knows about. Well, it turns out it wasn’t, especially with all the MEDC (More economically developed country) delegates attacking me about GMOs and how my resolution only appeals to lesser economically developed countries. Thanks a lot MEDC delegates. 😦

Image

We all had to research about our countries, and we had to represent them in our committees. I was in the environmental committee, which concerns sustainable meat and crop production as well as green energy and crude oil alternatives. Woah. That sounded really smart. But it wasn’t boring, even though I may be using a lot of big words right now.

We made resolutions, and we passed them to the board. Well, one of mine got passed (green energy one) so that was great!! But the GMO…did not. 11 in favor and 13 against. Come on! Just a few more votes people! But yeah, got attacked A LOT about Guatemala’s stance, which was kind of annoying and nerve-wrecking, especially considering I slept for 5 hours/day for those three days. Yeah…fun….

Met a lot of cool people from Rostock, and even got to go to a club (hosted by the BALMUN of course). People kept bumping into me, and then looking down and realizing, “Oh, that’s a girl and not a tiny munchkin!” Sucks not being 5″ 11′.

Image

Image

Image

Other than being extremely stressed out and partying, my friends and I went on a little mini food adventure between the two.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Yeah. I’m ready to give up this:

Image

Five minutes before going out the door on the first day of MUN. See that face? That is the face of evil manifested, ready to slam all delegates who come her way down. Muahahha.

Image

For this:

Image

Happy, funky me again!

Leave a Reply

