Happy New Year -Inspirations

Right now, sitting on my bedroom, at midnight on the first day of the new year, I can’t help asking myself. How does time fly so quickly?

Yes, I know that’s very cliche, but it’s so true! Each day seems so long, yet the weeks and months seem to pass by so quickly at the same time! Thoughts about college and SAT IIs and summer programs are crowding my mind right now, so little time, so much to do!

In looking forward into such a hectic year, I decided to take one final flip through the ‘inspirations’ document I had saved in my desktop. Throughout the year, I’ve carried these inspirations with me, and instead of the usual “picture+maybe some captions” format I usually have on my inspiration posts, I’ll actually list my inspirations here.

They’ve been carried from Thailand, where this year started in my house, to the somber yet eye-opening Holocaust memorials in Germany, to the “TGS amazing race” through five countries in Europe, and ending with the beat of the Zulu drum in South Africa, and a flight back here, back home yet again, where I had started.

I hope they inspire you too, as you look over your resolutions and gear up for the new year.

1) Sweet stories that remind you of all the good things in the world. Sometimes, the world can be very…foreboding, full of demanding people, money, and the devastating unemployment rates. We all need a little break from that world, and with Wongfuproduction’s videos like this one, well, it just reminds you of the things that make life so wonderful. This video is a dance romance video about a girl who likes a guy, who likes another girl but feels like the girl is not accepting him because he’s a “nice guy.” Sounds like your average romance comedy, but fear not! There is an interesting little twist at the end.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 12.35.52 AM

2) Contemporary dance. Even when all your skills are rusty, you can still do contemporary dance. It’s very much an “inside out” sort of dance. Whatever feels natural to you and your body, just go with it. Don’t try to preform, dance. There’s a difference.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 12.40.57 AM

3) “Art of War” Sun Tzu. This is a perfect read for the new year, so you’re on your A game the year ahead!

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the results of a hundred battles.”

-Sun Tzu

4) “Life of Pi.” Words can’t describe how incredible this movie is. I’ve read the book, and when I went into the movie theatre, with its advertisements running on the screen, I hoped that the movie would not ruin the book for me. It was just so cinematic, funny, crude, and yet so sentimental, deep, and original at the same time. No other movie I’ve watched can say the same. Maybe it’s just me and my fascination of stillness, and that one scene where Pi is standing on water, which is reflecting the pink sky above though….I’ve always had this longing to play the flute in a misty lake surrounded by scenic mountains, with no one around…

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 12.48.08 AM

Anyways, that’s about it! Hope you all have an incredible new year everyone!

-Yada 🙂

All photos from google.

Leave a Reply

