To see with Blurred Lines

In a world of acceptance, we still look at each other, without seeing who the others are.

While some are given no features and are only  seen through their clothes and what brand sunglasses they wear, others are blurred through what they do. There is a certain air of reverence and detachment when high-aspiring and/or famous people introduce themselves and tell others who they are. For some, even their name can bar people from seeing who they are.

I personally have come across this problem multiple times, especially now that I am going to be speaking at TedxChiangMai in a month. Whenever I meet strangers, and tell them I write books, go to the first traveling high school, and have started many charity initiatives, a wall seems to come up. It is as if the stranger I am talking to has stopped seeing me as me, but me as the culmination and the title of “Founder, writer, and activist.”

I am Yada, the girl who trips over her feet every time she tries to be graceful, who sings in the shower. I am not numbers or titles or somehow above all other people my age, even though I do what I do for passion.

I admit that I am guilty of blindly blurring people, especially when meeting writing idols or heads of state, and for that, I have now just started to understand how hard it can be to be the blurred.

So let’s make a vow, to see people, behind their numbers, their achievements, their reputation, their fame.

Let’s make a vow, to look.

 

Leave a Reply

